Six days after my last post, I had a baby

Six days after my last post (back in May 2013, believe it or not), my baby came almost 7 weeks early. In the eight months since then, I’ve experienced postac angst all over again. With a preemie baby in the NICU, and then a newborn who wanted to nurse around the clock, it became suddenly much harder to follow the altac conversation, much less schedule informational interviews or get out for meetings of my local group of postacademics. And after eight months, I’m frustrated. I love my baby dearly, but I’m just not cut out to be a stay-at-home mom, and it’s not really working to be a work-at-home mom, either. My digital library work continues, and as of the start of the fall semester, I work half-time in the evenings at the college library across the street, as a circulation supervisor. I find it hard to squeeze in work on the website, much less anything like writing a blog post or attempting something more public and/or intellectual.  But I want to get back in the game, so I’m going to try to blog more regularly, see if I can actually follow the whirlwind of information that is Twitter, and in general take some steps to get my life back in order.

 

Leave a Reply

